Taiwan: officially the Republic of China, is a country in East Asia. It shares maritime borders with the People's Republic of China to the northwest, Japan to the northeast, and the Philippines to the south. Austronesian-speaking ancestors of Taiwanese indigenous peoples settled the island around 6,000 years ago. In the 17th century, large-scale Han Chinese immigration to western Taiwan began under a Dutch colony and continued under the Kingdom of Tungning. The island was annexed in 1683 by the Qing dynasty of China, and ceded to the Empire of Japan in 1895. The Republic of China, which had overthrown the Qing in 1911, took control of Taiwan on behalf of the World War II Allies following the surrender of Japan in 1945. The resumption of the Chinese Civil War resulted in the ROC's loss of mainland China to forces of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) and retreat to Taiwan in 1949. Its effective jurisdiction has since been limited to Taiwan and numerous smaller islands. In the early 1960s, Taiwan entered a period of rapid economic growth and industrialization called the "Taiwan Miracle". In the late 1980s and early 1990s, the ROC transitioned from a one-party military dictatorship to a multi-party democracy with a semi-presidential system. Taiwan's export-oriented industrial economy is the 21st-largest in the world by nominal GDP, and 20th-largest by PPP measures, with major contributions from steel, machinery, electronics and chemicals manufacturing.
Trip Planning: The planning stage of your trip can be instrumental in its success and an enjoyable part of the experience itself. You have a world of options...and plenty to consider.
Entry and Exit formalities: Visitors must hold a passport valid for at least six months & beyond at the time of entering the country. Some nationalities can obtain visa on arrival and for nationalities who requires visa please refer to the BSA for Taiwan consulate website: https://www.roc-taiwan.org/DXB
Transportation: Figuring out how to get around is one of your biggest pre-trip decisions. Get our holiday expert best advice on deciding between your options. Based on your trip itinerary, our experts will help you choose wisely. You'll also find a wealth of practical travel tips.
Money: Use your money wisely. Know the best time to use cash or card — and how to avoid unnecessary fees either way — as well as tipping etiquette.
Phones and Technology: Phones and other smart devices can be huge time-savers...or expensive distractions. Get our tips for making the best use of technology during your trip, and for calling home with or without your own phone.
Packing Light: On your trip you'll meet two kinds of travelers: those who pack light and those who wish they had.
Sleeping and Eating: Your hotel and restaurant choices can be a matter-of-face chore…or they can provide rich opportunities to connect with locals and their culture.
Health & Hygiene: Take comfort: Doctors, hospitals, launderettes, and bathrooms aren’t that different. Dealing with them can even be part of the fun of travel.
Sightseeing & Activities: Once you're on the ground, the real fun begins…but it pays to have a thoughtful plan. Our experts will help you get oriented to your surroundings, use your sightseeing hours wisely, and find your way off the beaten path.
Things to see & do:
Taipei-the capital of Taiwan, is a modern metropolis with Japanese colonial lanes, busy shopping streets and contemporary buildings. The skyline is crowned by the 509m-tall, bamboo-shaped Taipei 101 skyscraper, with upscale shops at the base and a rapid elevator to an observatory near the top. Taipei is also known for its lively street-food scene and many night markets, including expansive Shilin market.
Kaohsiung-is a massive port city in southern Taiwan. It's home to many skyscrapers, such as the 248m-tall Tuntex Sky Tower, and is known for its diversity of parks. Its focal point is the Love River, with walking paths and cafes along its banks, and cruise boats navigating its waters. Shopping options range from high-end malls to the Liuhe and Ruifeng night markets.
Taichung- is an industrial city on the western side of central Taiwan. It’s a gateway for exploring the island’s mountainous interior, including nature areas like Sun Moon Lake, popular for boating and hiking. In the bustling city center are museums, temples and the ornate brick Taichung Station, a legacy of the Japanese colonial period (1895–1945).
Tainan- a city on Taiwan’s southwest coast, was the island’s capital from 1683–1887 under the Qing dynasty. Today it’s known for its centuries-old fortresses and temples. One of its most famous sites is Chihkan Tower, an 18th-century Chinese complex with gardens, intricately carved towers and a temple erected on the foundations of Fort Provintia, a Dutch outpost dating to the mid-1600s.
New Taipei City- is a special municipality in Taiwan. Located in northern Taiwan, the city includes a substantial stretch of the island's northern coastline and surrounds the Taipei Basin, making it the second largest special municipality by area, behind Kaohsiung.
Keelung City- is a port city near Taipei, in northern Taiwan. Surrounded by mountains, it’s known for its sheltered harbor. Near the waterfront, street-food stalls at Miaokou Night Market offer traditional snacks and seafood. Several forts around the area include hilltop Ershawan Fort, with cannons and a Chinese-style gate. Both Gongzi Liao Fort and Dawulun Fort offer views over the harbor and ocean.
Hsinchu- is a city in northern Taiwan, southwest of the capital city of Taipei. It’s known for its ornate Hsinchu City God (Cheng Huang) Temple, lined with food stalls. Close by is Yin Hsi East Gate, a 19th-century structure once used as an entrance to the city. Hsinchu Zoo houses hippos, Bengal tigers and Malay bears. Southeast of the center, trails cross the forested Shibajian (18 Peaks) Mountain.
Chiayi City- is a city located in the plains of southwestern Taiwan. Formerly called Kagee during the late Qing dynasty and Kagi during the Japanese era, its historical name is Tirosen.
Banqiao District is a district and the seat of New Taipei City, Taiwan. It has the third-highest population density in Taiwan, with over 24,000 people per km². Until the creation of New Taipei City, Banqiao was an incorporated county-administered city and the former seat of Taipei County.
Hualien City- is on the east coast of Taiwan. The central Pine Garden is a cultural center set inside a former Japanese military office. The Hualien County Stone Sculpture Museum showcases contemporary and traditional stone carvings. Tzu Chi Cultural Park is a tranquil green space, with statues and a meditation hall. On the Pacific Ocean coast, sprawling Nanbin Park features a popular night market.
Douliu- is a county-administered city and the county seat of Yunlin County, Taiwan. It is also the political and economic center of the county. Douliu City is served by National Highway No. 3.
Magong- is a county-administered city and seat of Penghu County, Taiwan. Magong City is located on Penghu's main island.
Changhua City- is a county-administered city and the county seat of Changhua County in Taiwan. For many centuries the site was home to a settlement of Babuza people, a coastal tribe of Taiwanese aborigines. Changhua city is ranked first by population among county-administered cities.
Taitung City- is on the southeast coast of Taiwan. It’s known for Peinan Cultural Park, the site of a number of buried Neolithic slate coffins first excavated in the 1980s. Examples of relics recovered from the site, including pottery and jade stones, are displayed at the National Museum of Prehistory. In the wooded Taitung Forest Park are birds and butterflies, and footpaths wind past several lakes.
Yuanlin* is a county-administered city in eastern Changhua County, Taiwan. It is the second largest settlement in the county, after the county seat of Changhua City.
Taoyuan District- is in northwestern Taiwan. The seat of Taoyuan City is situated within its borders. Taoyuan is the native home to the plains tribes of Taiwanese aborigines. Taoyuan's old name was Toahong 'peach orchard' since there used to be many peach blossoms in the area.
Pingtung City- The area of modern-day Pingtung City was originally a village of the Taiwanese Plains Aborigines which they called "Akau", which means "the forest". After the expulsion of the Dutch, the village grew into a Chinese market-town called A-kau. In 1901 during the Japanese era, Akō Chō was one of twenty local administrative offices established. In 1909, this unit was merged with Banshoryō Chō and Kōshun Chō to form Akō Chō. Beginning in 1920, the name was changed to Heitō Town, governed under Takao Prefecture. In 1933, the town was upgraded to City status.
Fongshan District- is located in southern Kaohsiung. Fongshan is one of the administrative centers of Kaohsiung and is home to the Chinese Military Academy. There are three military units currently located in Fongshan.
Yilan City- It’s set on the Lanyang Plain, north of the Lanyang River, with a bird sanctuary nearby. The 19th-century Zhao-Ying Temple features ornate stone and wood sculptures. Southeast, in Wujie Township, the National Center for Traditional Arts is dedicated to music and opera. The city serves as a gateway to volcanic Guishan Island, off the east coast.
Nantou City- is located in the northwest of Nantou County, Taiwan. It lies between the Bagua Mountains and the Maoluo River and is the county seat of Nantou County. Freeway No. 3 serves Nantou City.
Tamsui- is a district of New Taipei City, in north Taiwan. It sits at the confluence of the Taiwan Strait and the Tamsui River. Near the river, busy Tamsui Old Street is lined with shops, restaurants and vendors selling local specialties. Also here are the ornate Longshan Temple and centuries-old Fuyou Temple. Founded by the Spanish, the hilltop Fort San Domingo (Hongmao Castle) was revamped by the Dutch and British.
Hengchun Township is located on the southern tip of the Hengchun Peninsula in Pingtung County, Taiwan. The village of Longkiau was the southernmost town that was occupied by the Dutch on Taiwan Island. The area was mostly occupied by the Paiwan and other Taiwanese aborigines. After the Rover Incident, wherein shipwrecked American sailors were massacred by the locals, Charles Le Gendre, the US consul at Amoy (Xiamen), visited the area. He found Longkiau at the far point of the curve forming Longkiau Bay. Its population of about 1,500 was "mostly engaged in the culture of peanuts, rice, sweet potatoes, a little sugar cane, and also in fishing". In response to the 1871 Mudan Incident, wherein shipwrecked Ryukyuan sailors were massacred by the locals, Japan following America's example-undertook a punitive expedition in 1874. The Japanese landed in Longkiau Bay and pushed north from there.
Fengyuan District- is located in north-central Taichung, Taiwan on the south bank of the Dajia. Before the arrival of the Han Chinese, the area of Fengyuan city was inhabited by Taiwanese aborigines. Their name for the area, meaning "thriving pine forest", was transcribed into Chinese characters. Before the mid-18th century, the area was a territory of the Pazeh people, which they called Haluton. This name was adapted into Hokkien as Haloton. 'gourd mound'. Han immigration to the area began during late Qing rule. Liu Mingchuan gave the area a nickname of "little Suzhou" due to its prosperity and scenic beauty.
Zhongli District- is in Taoyuan City. Zhongli is spelled variously as Jungli, Jongli, Jhongli or Chungli on railway, bus stop and road signs. Historically, the city is the site of the Zhongli Incident of 1977, the most significant event of the democratization movement prior to the 1980s. In the 19th century, the area was home to Pingpu aborigines. During the Qing dynasty, immigrants from Fujian and Guangdong provinces arrived along with Hakka. The original name of the area was Kan-a-lek due to its location between Tamsui and Hsinchu. During Japanese rule, the town was administered as Chūreki Town Shinchiku Prefecture.
Puli-is a township of Nantou County, in central Taiwan. It sits in a verdant basin, ringed by mountains. The Geographic Center of Taiwan monument marks the exact center of the country. The Muh Sheng Museum of Entomology has a greenhouse with live butterflies and houses many insect and butterfly species. North of town, the huge, modern Chung Tai Chan Monastery has Buddha statues, a teak wood pagoda and a golden dome.
Central District- is an urban district in Taichung City. It is located at the heart of the city, though it has seen decline in recent years as newer districts nearby like Xitun has seen growth. It is the smallest district and township-level subdivision in Taiwan and the only one with an area under 1 km².
Yonghe District- is an urban area in the southern part of New Taipei, Taiwan. Yonghe District is the smallest district in New Taipei City. It is primarily a mixed residential and commercial area. With around 40,000 inhabitants per square kilometer, Yonghe is one of the most densely populated urban areas in the world.
Taibao- The city was named after the government position of Wang De-lu, whose hometown is Taibao, in the 19th century. Formerly Tsing-kau-boe. Taibao City was established as Taibao Township in August 1945 after the handover of Taiwan from Japan to the Republic of China. In August 1946, Taibao Township was incorporated to Chiayi City to become Taibao District. In September 1950, it became a rural township named Taibao Township under Chiayi County administration. In July 1991, it became a county-administered city called Taibao City.
Zhubei- is a city in Hsinchu County. It is one of the fastest-growing settlements in Taiwan. In 1920, the area of Chikuhoku Station was formerly called "Angmo Field" 'red fur field'. In 1941, Kyūminato Village and Rokka Village merged to become Chikuhoku Village under Shinchiku District. The agricultural aspect of Zhubei has shifted from mainly rice paddy farming to more floral and fruit cultivation that attracts tourists; however the majority of the local economy is now fueled by the semiconductor industry, real estate speculation and the service sector. Parts of Zhubei City have retained their traditional infrastructure following the demolition of the old city. There are also industrial parks in the city, which are the Hsinchu Biomedical Science Park and the Tai Yuen Hi-Tech Industrial Park.
Jincheng Township- is located on the southwestern corner of the island of Kinmen. Jincheng also served as the capital of Republic of China's Fujian Province from 1949 to 1956. From 1956 to 1996, the capital of Fujian Province was relocated to Xindian, Taipei County, Taiwan Province. In 1996, the capital was moved back to Jincheng. In March 2012, it was named one of the Top 10 Small Tourist Towns by the Tourism Bureau.
Lugu Township is located in the southwest of Nantou County, Taiwan. Lugu is known as the home of Dongding Oolong Tea, which was first cultivated on Dong Ding Mountain in the area. The tourist attractions in the area are the Fonghuanggu Bird and Ecology Park, Jiji Weir, Ming Shan Resort, Xitou Nature Education Area.
Lukang- is a township in Changhua County, on the west coast of Taiwan. The red-brick streets of the Lukang Old Street area are lined with traditional buildings and snack shops. The grand Lukang Longshan Temple features carved dragon poles and garden courtyards. North, the Lukang Tianhou Temple has Qing dynasty inscriptions. Musical instruments, paintings and photography are on display at the Lukang Folk Arts Museum.
Toufen- is a city in northern Miaoli County. Its city centre forms a continuous urban area with Zhunan. In 2007, there was a revitalization project for the community houses in the city which was funded by Council of Cultural Affairs and private sectors which turned the buildings into a museum of chronicling life in the 1950s and 1960s. On 5 October 2015, Toufen was upgraded from an urban township to a county-administered city. Toufen has an area of 53.3029 km2. Surrounding the city are Miaoli County's Zhunan, Zaoqiao and Sanwan townships to the northwest/west, southwest and southeast, respectively, and Hsinchu County to the northeast and east.
Xinying District or Sinying District- is a district and the location of second administration center of the city government of Tainan City. Sugar production was the most important industry in Xinying. On 7 January 1946, Tainan County was established and Xinying Township was made its county capital. On 25 December 1981, Xinying was upgraded from an urban township to a county-administered city. After 25 December 2010, Tainan City merged with Tainan County to form a single special municipality, subsequently Xinying City became Xinying District and became the capital of Tainan City along with Anping District.
Miaoli City- has a relatively high percentage of Hakka people. The name Miaoli was coined using two Hakka words, which phonetically approximate Pali (Bari) from the Taokas language. Miaoli Hsien was at first eliminated under Japanese rule. Bioritsu Cho was established in 1901. It was then divided over Shinchiku Chō and Taichū Chō in 1909. From 1920 to 1945, Byōritsu Town, Enri Town and six villages were under the jurisdiction of Byōritsu District.
Anping District- In March 2012, it was named one of the Top 10 Small Tourist Towns by the Tourism Bureau of Taiwan. The history of Anping dates back to the 17th century, when the Dutch East India Company occupied a "high sandy down" called Tayouan and built Fort Zeelandia. The Dutch moved their headquarters to Tayouan after leaving the Pescadores in 1624. Due to silting, the islet has joined with mainland Taiwan. Koxinga's army brought an end to the Dutch colonial period via the Siege of Fort Zeelandia. In the Japanese period, the history of trade between China and Japan unfolded at Anping. According to the 1904 census, the city's population was 5,972. The older place name of Tayouan derives from the ethnonym of a nearby Taiwanese aboriginal tribe, and was written by the Dutch and Portuguese variously as Taiouwang, Tayowan, etc. In his translations of Dutch records, missionary William Campbell used the variant Tayouan and wrote that Taoan and Taiwan also occur. As Dutch spelling varied greatly at the time other variants may be seen.
After the Dutch were ousted c. 1661 by Koxinga, Han immigrants renamed the area "Anping" after the Anping Bridge in Quanzhou, Fujian. Soon after Qing rule was established in 1683, the name "Taiwan" was officially used to refer to the whole island with the establishment of Taiwan Prefecture.
Pingzhen District- is a district in the central part of Taoyuan City. Pingzhen was originally established as Changluliao during the Qing Dynasty rule of Taiwan. In 1920 under the Japanese rule, the city was renamed to Pingzhen. On 1 March 1992, it was upgraded from a rural township as the third county-administered city of Taoyuan County named Pingzhen City. On 25 December 2014, it was upgraded to a district named Pingzhen District when Taoyuan County was upgraded from a county to a municipality.
Donggang Township or Tungkang Township- is an urban township in west-central Pingtung County, Taiwan. Located on Taiwan's western coastline, along the Taiwan Strait, it has one of Taiwan's largest fishing harbors. Dapeng Bay with its national scenic area is just south of Donggang.
Yongkang District is a district in Tainan. Due to the development of manufacturing and food-processing industries, Yongkang has become a migrant city since the 1970s, attracting many people from neighboring cities who now work and live in the city. Its population experienced a large increase during the 1970s, and Yongkang became the largest city in Tainan County in 1977. On 1 May 1993 Yongkang was upgraded from rural township to a county-administered city was formerly the largest city of Tainan County until it merged with Tainan City to form the new Tainan municipality and became Yongkang District on 25 December 2010. Tourist attractions are Jiyu Lake, Taiwan Metal Creation Museum, Yunshan Orchard.
Zhonghe District-is an inner city district in an urban area in northern Taiwan. The present-day area of Zhonghe District was originally settled by aboriginal tribes. During conflict between the colonial forces of the Dutch and the Spanish, the area is recorded by the Dutch as Chiron, from the name of one of the tribes living there. This name is preserved in one of the constituent villages of the city, called Xiulang Li, and the bridge which connects Zhonghe and Xindian. The area was subsequently settled by Han Chinese migrants from Fujian but remained relatively unimportant until the end of the Second World War.
Sanchong District- was called Satengpo which literally means "The Third Plain" by the early settlers. The settlers from the modern-day Xinzhuang area moved up north and named the plains they settle as "The First Plain" located in modern-day Xinzhuang District), "The Second Plain" located in modern-day Sanchong) and The Third Plain. The district has been an important suburb of Taipei. On 1 April 1962, Sanchong was upgraded from an urban township to be a county-administered city. On 25 December 2010 with the creation of New Taipei City from former Taipei County, Sanchong City was upgraded into a district. Tourist attractions are New Taipei Bridge
Xianse Temple, Erchong Riverside Park, Erchong Lotus Park, Chongyang Bridge-a cable-stayed bridge and a beautiful night-time landmark.
Alishan Township- is a mountain indigenous in Chiayi County. Alishan National Scenic Area covers parts of neighboring townships. In 1906, the Japanese has discovered a red cypress tree that was over 3000 years old, located next to the Alishan Forest Railway's Sacred Tree Station. The Japanese honored it as the "Sacred Tree". The tree is 52 meters tall with a trunk diameter of nearly 5 meters, making it one of the largest giant trees in Alishan. The Alishan sacred tree withered due to lightning and heavy rain. It was put down in 1998 for tourists to visit. In 2006, the Chiayi County Government and the Alishan Scenic Area Administration started a voting activity to select other sacred trees as the new landmark in the scenic area. The 45-meter tall, 2,300-year-old Xianglin Giant Tree received the highest number of votes and became the second generation of sacred tree. The Giant trees are later organized, and a trail is built for visitors to enter, where they can see more than 38 giant trees, most of which are hundreds of years old.
Yujing District- is a rural district in eastern Tainan. It is famous for its cultivation of mangoes. After a 6.4-magnitude earthquake hit southern Taiwan in March 2010, pillars were severely damaged at Yujing Junior High School forcing school officials to cancel some classes. Yujing is likely the site of Tevorang], a former political unit of the Taiwanese aborigines. Tevorang was one of nine villages that joined in warfare against the people of Favorlang (modern-day Huwei, Yunlin). During the Kingdom of Tungning, members of the Siraya people from the Tavocan area (modern-day Xinhua) moved to this area due to conflicts with Han Chinese. The Tapani Incident of 1915 was one of the largest armed uprisings by Taiwanese Han and aboriginals against Japanese rule in Taiwan. In 1920, the name was changed from Tapani to Tamai and administratively was called Tamai Village. During Japanese rule, Tamai produced abundant sugar.
Daxi District- In March 2012, it was named one of the Top 10 Small Tourist Towns by the Tourism Bureau of Taiwan. The area was occupied for several thousand years by the Atayal people. The Atayal called the local river (modern-day Dahan Creek) Takoham in their native Austronesian language. This gave rise to similar names such as Toa-kho-ham. Eighteenth-century Han settlement in the Taipei Basin led many Atayal families to relocate upriver, though some Atayal stayed and mingled with the newcomers. The settlement later became an important trading post in the 19th century. In 1803, open fighting broke out between two rival factions of Han settlers in Taipei, and many refugees fled south for safety. Among the refugees was the Lin Ben Yuan Family, one of the wealthiest clans in Taiwan at the time. The clan settled in Takoham, invested its fortunes in the settlement and brought prosperity to the whole region. Due to its strategic location and the investments made by the Lin clan, Takoham became the center of trading and transportation between Taipei and the south. Goods would arrive here to be transported to Taipei via Dahan river, and many traders opened their shops in the area; some of the shops still exist today in the old town section.
Dali District-is an inner city district in Taichung, Taiwan. After the handover of Taiwan from Japan to the Republic of China in 1945, Dali was organized as a rural township of Taichung County. On 1 November 1993, Dali was upgraded to a county-administered city. On 25 December 2010, Taichung County was merged with Taichung City and Dali was upgraded to a district of the city. The tourist attaractions in Dali are Museum of Fiber Arts, Taichung software park Dali art plaza, Daliyi old street, Daliyifusinggong temple, Mayfun Taro ice, Taichung City Dali Civil Sports Center.
Wulai- is a mountainous district south of New Taipei City, in Taiwan. It's known for its hot springs, including pools by the Nanshi River. The Wulai Atayal Museum traces the history of the area's indigenous Atayal people. A cable car runs up to Wulai Waterfall, which tumbles over a craggy rock face. Nearby, Neidong Forest Recreation Area has a multitiered waterfall and trails through forest sheltering birds and frogs.
Minxiong Township-was originally called Damao where the Hoanya people resided. In 1920, the Japanese government renamed it to Minxiong and consisted of 22 villages. After the handover of Taiwan from Japan to the Republic of China in 1945, Minxiong was established as a township on 20 January 1946 according to the Provisional Act of Taiwan Province for Organizing Townships. It was placed under Chiayi District of Tainan County. On 25 December 1950, Chiayi District was replaced by Chiayi County and the township was made under the newly established county. In 1953, the 22 villages of the township were further divided into 28 villages. In 1978, the number of villages were merged into 26 according to the Implementation Scheme of Administrative Region Division and Adjustment of Villages. In June 1994, 2 villages were further divided making the total number became 28 villages.
Puzi- The settlement was formerly called Pho-a-kha in Chinese & Hokkien in Japanese. In 1920, during Japanese rule, it was renamed Bokushi Town and governed under Tōseki District, Tainan Prefecture. After the handover of Taiwan from Japan to the Republic of China in October 1945, Puzi Township was incorporated into Tainan County. On 11 December 1945, the Puzi Township Office was established. In October 1950, Chiayi County Government was established and Puzi was incorporated into Chiayi County. On 1 July 1992, Puzi Township was upgraded to a county-administered city. The tourist attractions in the area are the Puzi Railway Park, Mei-Ling Fine Arts Museum, Peitian Temple, Puzih Art Park, Puzih Embroidery Cultural Hall, Puzih Railway Park.
Xinzhuang District-is an inner district in the western part of New Taipei in northern Taiwan. The tourist attractions in the area are the Cihyou Temple, Losheng Sanatorium, Siangrenhe Clock and Drum Workshop, Temple to Erudition Deity, Temple to the Martial Deity, Xinzhuang Baseball Stadium, Xinzhuang Culture and Arts Center.
Yangmei District- Yangmei City was originally established as Yangmeili during Qing dynasty rule. The name was shortened Yōbai in 1920, during Japanese rule. Under the Republic of China, the former township was upgraded to a county-administered city after passing 150,000 in population. On 25 December 2014, it was upgraded again to a district. The Tourist attractions are the Arwin Charisma Museum Tourist Factory & Kuo Yuan Ye Museum of Cake and Pastry.
North District-is the city seat of Hsinchu City. It is the smallest of the three districts in Hsinchu City. The Tourist attractions are the Hsinchu City Fire Museum, Hsinchu Chenghuang Temple, Hsinchu CKS Baseball Stadium, Hsinchu Fish Harbor, Hsinchu Museum of Military Dependents Village, Hsinchu Performing Arts Center, Immaculate Heart of Mary Cathedral, St. John Church.
Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall Taipei - The 1970s monument to Taiwan’s former military and political leader Chiang Kai-shek is set in a quiet central city park on the east side of Memorial Hall Square. Most tourists come to see the changing of the guard in the main hall, where there is a large statue of Chiang Kai-shek. The ceremony happens on the hour from 9am to 5pm
National Taiwan Museum and 228 Memorial Park - The National Taiwan Museum is two separate buildings: the main wing is located in 228 Memorial Park, while the second building is across the street in a former bank. Both buildings are filled with interesting exhibits on the natural history of Taiwan and its indigenous tribes. When you’re finished here, you can take a walk through the park.
The Presidential Palace - now known as the Presidential Office Building, was built between 1912 and 1919, during the Japanese colonial period, and is an impressive feat of architecture. It houses the day-to-day working office of the president but you can tour parts of it, including exhibitions on democracy in Taiwan.
National Palace Museum - Home to the world’s largest collection of Chinese Imperial artefacts, the National Palace Museum is impressive with its permanent and visiting exhibitions. This is one of the only Taipei attractions where you can find rare Chinese ceramics, jade carvings and paintings dating back hundreds of years.
Dr Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall - Dr Sun Yat-sen was the former leader of the KMT party and the first president of the Republic of China. The park surrounding the memorial hall is a nice place to relax in the afternoon, while the hall itself houses some of Sun Yat-sen’s personal items, as well as exhibitions about his life and the revolution he led in 1911.
Elephant Mountain- The best Taipei tourist spot from which to get a bird’s eye view of the city and the Taipei 101 skyscraper in particular. It’s a short and not too taxing hike to the top, which is a perfect location for taking a few snapshots of the city skyline. The peak, Xiangshan in Chinese, is 183m (600ft) high and has a 1.5km (1mi) hiking trail through the trees and ferns.
Martyrs' Shrine - It’s a memorial to more than 390,000 war dead, including those who died in the Second Sino-Japanese War (1937-1945) and the Chinese Civil War (1927-1949). You can also watch the changing of the guard here.
Bopiliao Old Street - This historical street, once part of a shipping centre during the Qing Dynasty, has been restored to its former glory. At the Heritage and Culture Education Center of Taipei City, now a museum, you can wander through reconstructed buildings, including a Chinese medicine shop and a school, complete with historical photographs.
Danshui Old Street - A wonderful street in the old fishing village of Danshui (which is now more of a town), Danshui Old Street ticks all the boxes for quaintness, food and souvenirs. One end of the street opens on to a wharf which is one of the nicest Taipei tourist spots to take in the sunset.
Shilin Night Market - Shilin is the most famous of the lot. Its brightly-lit stalls offer everything from local street food and sweets to cheap clothing and kitchenware. There is a market hall with food stalls in the basement and the rest of the stalls cover a triangular area, with the Ming Chuan University Taipei Campus on one side and Bailing Senior High School on the other.
Taipei 101 - It held the title of the world’s tallest building from 2004 to 2009, and it’s still the tallest in Taiwan, at 509m (1,670ft) with an observation deck at 449m (1,473ft).
Fort San Domingo - Originally built in wood by the Spanish in 1628 and then rebuilt by the Dutch in 1644, Fort San Domingo is a relic of Taiwan’s colonial past. The Dutch were known as red-haired people by the Han people at the time they built the fort, which was fittingly nicknamed Fort Red Hair. The Qing Dynasty made repairs to the fort and it was leased to the British, who used it as an unofficial embassy on and off until 1972. It has been open to the public since 1980.
Hobe Fort - This solid military structure, finished in 1888, was never used in a war, but it is nevertheless an impressive building and has stood the test of time very well.
Lover's Bridge - Also in Danshui, you’ll find the Lover’s Bridge by Fisherman’s Wharf. The bridge, opened on Valentine’s Day 2003, is a nice place to take some photos and enjoy a spot of lunch in one of the many local seafood restaurants.
Longshan Temple - has been either completely or partially destroyed by several earthquakes, fires, and a few wars, including World War II, when it was damaged by bombs. Each time, the building has been lovingly restored by the local community, although historic artefacts have been lost. The original temple was constructed in 1738 by settlers from Fujian, China, but was rebuilt between 1919 and 1924.
Huashan 1914 Creative Park- a former winery that opened under Japanese rule, this creative park is now home to a variety of shops, cafes, restaurants, and exhibition halls. Here, you’ll also find a lot of local craft and artworks for sale, such as wood sculptures and paintings. Writers, theatre producers and film directors have used the park to showcase their talents.
Miramar Ferris Wheel - which is 70m (230ft) tall, offers a wonderful view of the city. It’s on the roof of the Miramar Entertainment Park, giving an extra boost to the vista. The park itself contains a department store and an IMAX theatre with a massive screen.
Yangmingshan National Park - Explore extinct volcanic terrain at Yangmingshan National Park on a private tour to one of Taipei's most popular locations. Admire stunning scenery that ranges from fumaroles to city viewpoints, hike up grassy trails, and relax in hot springs afterward.
Chiang Kai-shek Shilin Residence - The former president’s official residence is set within beautiful botanical gardens and is now open to the public, after years of restoration work. The building is full of interesting items that once belonged to both Chiang Kai-shek and his wife Soong Mei-ling, who was known as Madame Chiang.
Kaohsiung Harbor - If you feel bored or lonely head to the harbor. It’s such a lively place! You can see people walking, cycling, sipping a drink by the water, ships loading and unloading containers. Gushan Ferry Pier is particularly vibrant on weekends.
The Old British Consulate - At the top, you’ll find the elegant red-brick building that used to be the colonial mansion for the British Consul. There are small exhibitions inside, but you’ll probably be more interested in enjoying a drink or a meal on the nice, open terrace – the top spot in town to get great sea views.
The Unconditional Love River - The Love River is such a cool place to take a quiet evening walk. The riverbanks are lined up with open-air cafes and peaceful little parks where you can rest or have a drink. If you’re looking for a place to spend a romantic evening.
Martyr’s Shrine - is a perfect example of classical Chinese architecture. Taiwan’s religious centers are often built in scenic locations and this one is no exception. The shrine sits high above the city on the southern slope of Shoushan. The area gives you access to lots of hiking trails.
Fine Arts Museum - This is another great place where you can find tranquility from the hectic pace of the city. Set in the middle of a vast and quiet park, the museum displays both local and foreign artwork.
Lotus Pond - If you’re passionate about temples, pagodas and old buildings, you will be delighted in this area. Plan an entire day to visit the main sites and have the time to explore the hidden back alleys.
Foguangshan Buddhist Monastery - This temple is the most impressive in the island. From the outside, it looks like Beijing’s Forbidden City with its palatial architecture and endless curved roofs. It’s a very peaceful place. The standing buddhas make striking photo subjects.
Yuanheng Temple- The Buddhist Monastery is perched on a ridge, at the southern edge of Shoushan hill. The interior is vast and quiet. You can sit in front of the three giant Buddhas for hours without being disturbed.
National Taichung Theater - nicknamed “the Most Difficult House to Accomplish” by the industry, was designed by the internationally acclaimed Japanese architect, Toyo Ito. Drawn from the concept of the Sound Cave, National Taichung Theater makes the best of its streamlined, rigid silhouette by means of modern techniques and materials, and then turns itself into an active venue.
Sun Moon Lake- is in the foothills of Taiwan’s Central Mountain Range. It’s surrounded by forested peaks and has foot trails. East of the lake, the Formosan Aboriginal Culture Village is a theme park with a section devoted to re-created indigenous villages. Displays here include centuries-old carved lintel pieces, handicrafts and weapons. The Sun Moon Lake Ropeway cable car offers views of the mountains and water.
Taroko National Park- is one of the nine national parks in Taiwan and was named after the Taroko Gorge, the landmark gorge of the park carved by the Liwu River. The park spans Taichung Municipality, Nantou County, and Hualien County and is located at Xiulin Township, Hualien County, Taiwan.
Calligraphy Greenway - The band-shaped city space that is Green Park Road connects the National Museum of Natural Science, Citizens Square, CMP Park Lane, an arts space, the National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts and a food-selling street. The atmosphere changes with each different activity; sometimes bustling, sometimes tranquil, the space is sometimes full, and sometimes empty, giving the area a natural harmony and flow like that of grass script calligraphy. As the design was based on the concept of finding the way to write ‘grass script' calligraphy, it is also known as the Calligraphy Greenway.
Dongfeng Bicycle Green Way Green Corridor and Hou-Feng bike path - The 4.5 km long Hou-Feng bike path was built along the old Mountain Railway Line. The beautiful scenery constantly varies. It crosses an iron bridge over the Dajia River and goes through the old railway tunnel, adding to its charm. Around 12 kilometers long, Dongfeng Bicycle Green Way Green Corridor was the first bikeway to be made from a disused railway line in Taiwan. It has lovely scenery and exudes Hakka charm. Tree planting along the bikeway has made it a green corridor that perfectly complements the Dajia River that runs beside it. This bikeway connects to Hou-Feng bike path and is a popular leisure spot in Taichung.
Feng Chia Night Market - is within a 1 kilometer radius of Feng Chia University. It includes Wen-hua Night Market, Feng jia Road, Xitun Road, Fuxing Road and Beacon Sun Plaza. According to marketing surveys, it is one of the most popular and visited night markets among young people. At weekends, as many as 30,000 people will pass through it! It is perhaps the most famous night market in all of Taiwan. Feng Chia has all kinds of creative take-away snack foods to sample; it is also full of new clothes that are oriented toward young students. They are fair-priced and fashionable.
Guguan Hot Spring - is situated amidst rugged terrain, with high mountain peaks reaching to the sky. The hot springs flow from between the rocks at the foot of the mountains all year round. Due to the high sulfur content the air is filled with the pungent smell of sulfur when close to the springs. It is said that after bathing here the Meiji emperor of Japan had a son, leading to the springs being nicknamed “Son Springs.”
Gaomei Wetlands - are located on the south side of the Dajia River Estuary in Qingshui. Over 120 bird species have been recorded here, it is an important ecological conservation area. It is not large, but because it has both mud flats and sand beaches and is also connected to the estuary's swamp area, it contains a rich variety of flora and fauna. It also offers beautiful sunsets over a unique manmade landscape, Gaomei Lighthouse and wind turbines. A cycle track runs through the area on which riders may coast with the wind in their hair, the Gaomei Wetlands are the highlights of the shore.
Taichung Park - Since it was opened in 1903, this Park has been an important Taichung landmark. The Park has a man-made lake, pavilions, arched bridges and other landscape features, as well as an outdoor stage, children's playground, tennis courts and other recreational facilities, making it suitable for the whole family.
Dajia Jenn Lann Temple - is one of the most famous Mazu Temples in Taiwan. It has over 200 years of history. It is filled with pilgrims all year long. The inspection tour held in March every year has become a world-famous religious ceremony attracting domestic and international tourists. It is a scenic spot that best represents Dajia. The violet jade Mazu of Jenn Lann Temple and the Golden Mazu in the basement of Mazu cultural museum are the treasures of the temple. Now, Mazu is considered one of the three treasures of Taichung. It is a scenic spot you must visit when in Taichung.
Wufeng Lin Family Garden - is the collective name given to the garden and residences in Wufeng, which consists primarily of the upper and lower house and the Lai Garden. At present the lower house is still being renovated. Lai Garden, in which Ming-Tai Vocational High School is located, was built for his mother by juren imperial scholar Lin Wen-hsien and became famous throughout Taiwan as the Lin Family Garden. In the years since it was first built in the Qing dynasty, the style of the buildings has changed considerably. In the later period, new buildings and gardens that are a mix of Chinese, Western and Japanese styles appeared.
Lishan Scenic Area - is on the western section of the Central Cross-Island Highway, adjacent to Shei-Pa National Park and Taroko National Park, and includes three main recreational systems: Guguan, Lishan and Siyuan Yakou. Siyuan Yakou is located on Provincial Highway A. Take the highway, passing through Huanshan village, to visit Wuling Farm. Here you can experience Atayal culture as well as see the rare indigenous fish, the Formosa landlocked salmon, and the distinctive geology of the region and other.